Amelia Island Lighthouse
Few structures in Florida boast heritage as long and intriguing as the Amelia Island Lighthouse, built in 1838. This is the state's oldest lighthouse, and it is the only one from the Territorial Period that has survived without major rebuilding.
When the lantern first sent its beam out to sea, Florida was not yet a state. Through the years, the old sailing ships gave way to modern freighters and fishing boats. The beacon kept shining and still guides seafarers into the channel toward the Fernandina Harbor.
The City of Fernandina Beach received possession of the lighthouse from the U.S. Coast Guard in 2001. The Coast Guard, with the help of local Coast Guard Auxiliary volunteers, is responsible for the function of the beacon. The City will preserve this monument, recognizing its importance as one of the island's most visible and beloved historic sites.
Click on the following link to download a lighthouse tour flyer: Lighthouse Tours
To register for a tour of the lighthouse, please call 904-310-3350 or visit the Atlantic Recreation Center (2500 Atlantic Avenue).
The bus leaves the Atlantic Recreation Center promptly at 10:00am on the day of the tour.
The 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of each month (excluding observed City holidays)
$5.00 per adult
$3.00 per child under 12
Minimum participation of 10 people
Maximum participation of 25 people
Special Note: The tour does not allow for patrons to climb the stairs in the lighthouse.
Viewing the Property
The Amelia Island Lighthouse property, located at 215 O'Hagan Lane (accessible from North Wolff Street), is open to the public for viewing on Saturdays from 11:00am - 2:00pm.